Book Review: Deadeye, by Michael W. Smart

I received an ARC of this novel in exchange for a review.

http://www.bequiamysteries.com/

I know I normally give a summary of my own, but since this is a mystery, I’ll just give you a copy of the jacket. That way you’re only getting what was intended and I’m not posting any spoilers!

From the jacket:

HER IMAGINARY BOGEYMAN IS REAL, AND DEADLY.

Police Superintendent Jolene Johanssen already has her hands full investigating a fatal motor vehicle accident involving a wealthy American businessman staying at a reclusive private island resort, when a second explosive case lands in her lap, the apparent suicide of a prominent Vincentian and advisor to the Government. The two cases lead her on a chase culminating in New York City, and a chilling discovery which threatens St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000037_00044]

This is the second in Mr. Smart’s Bequia Mysteries series (the first is Dead Reckoning). I haven’t read the first one, but was able to keep up with the second. There is probably some character development in the first one that was missed by my tardiness to the party, but it doesn’t really affect the book that much.

I will say, I had some difficulties in the beginning. There’s a dialect the author uses when the characters are talking that is a bit difficult to understand.

This book is what I would call a slow burner, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It’s a hard-boiled crime mystery (which I don’t normally read), and those normally take a minute to get going. For a genre I don’t partake in frequently, I do have to give this book kudos for keeping my attention.

If you’re a fan of hard-boiled or you liked Dead Reckoning, you’re sure to like this installment.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Deadeye, by Michael W. Smart

Thoughts?

