Sequel in the Works

As many of you know, I’ve been in the process of rewriting and revision for some time now. Unfortunately(?), I’m still in that process. And will probably continue to be for the foreseeable future. Not only have I had to struggle with ignoring the tempting insistence of the sun to come out and play, I’ve also decided to do a sequel, and possibly more, with the current story.

I had a vague inkling of a trilogy to begin with, but when I finished the first draft of the first book, I sat there and thought, ‘This is it; this is all I’m going to do. The story is finished, and so am I.’ So I moved on to other things. Planning other novels, writing short stories and the like, all while slowly revising the novel. My brain became immersed in another character, and I was raring to go with her story, but held out telling myself that I had to finish my current project first. Then–while I was about halfway done with the revision–bam! Tilly and her lot came rushing back into my mind and a sequel was born. Well, not born, as I’ve not written it yet, but the seeds of an idea sprung up into nice little seedlings and are working on becoming fully bloomed flowers.

So I’m back in the world of Limbo, with Tilly and Naveen and the others, trying to figure out what kind of shenanigans they can get into in the second book. I’ve never written a sequel before (and honestly a trilogy kind of scares me to death, but one book at a time 😉 ), but I’m going for it. So what will follow over the course of the next several weeks/months will be me pulling and prodding and stretching and shrinking my work as I struggle to form it into more than one comprehensible book. It’s going to be a lot of work. And it’s daunting. It’s going to be a learning experience for me, as I develop story arcs, not only for two separate books (possibly three) but for the story as a whole.

But, obviously Tilly isn’t done with me. So, as many of us are to our characters, I’m a slave to her story until she’s finished.

Thoughts?

