Blog Tour for OTHELLA

 

banner

 

I’m thrilled to be kicking off the blog tour for OTHELLA, the first in a new series by Therin Knite! Read on for all the information you could ever want on  the book and the emerging author.

The Author

Therin Knite is a 22-year-old recent college graduate who occasionally writes speculative fiction and has the odd delusion of literary stardom. Knite lives in a humble little place known as the Middle of Nowhere, VA, where she spends most of her days reading books and writing what may possibly qualify as books.

The Book

unnamedGeorgette

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Georgette McClain can’t resist a juicy tip. So when a rumored crazy ex-CEO gifts her evidence of a vast conspiracy involving the world’s premier scientific community, Arcadian Heights, she sets her sights on the story of a lifetime. And all she has to do to grab it by the reins is sneak into the most secure facility in the world — and expose it for the slaughter house it is.

Marco

Tech company CEO Marco Salt has it all. Fame. Fortune. Family. But not long after Marco’s beloved genius daughter is invited to join Arcadian Heights, a rogue agent reveals to him the horrifying truth about the revered scientific community. Forced to flee for his life, Marco finds himself on the run with a deadly secret in his grasp and a single goal in mind: destroy Arcadian Heights.

Quentin

Quentin Belmont has been the Arcadian Heights spokesman for the better part of two decades, and his singular motivation is to keep the community safe at all costs. So when an internal incursion leaks vital information to an outside party, Quentin preps a “cleanup” without a second thought. But what at first appears to be a simple task turns out to be anything but, and Quentin comes face to face with the unthinkable — a threat that could annihilate the community.

The Giveaway

There will be a paperback copy of OTHELLA up for grabs. Want it? Obviously you do, now that you’ve read the blurb. CLICK HERE for the giveaway. The giveaway runs from June 25th to July 25, so enter now!

Where to Buy

Didn’t win the giveaway? Never fear! You can pick up a copy at Amazon in two versions: Kindle and paperback (oh the choices!). The Kindle version is available for $0.99 for a limited time. You heard me, 99 cents, people!

Excerpt

Marco

( 5 Years Ago )

 

Clarissa’s picture beckons.

I shuffle across the room again, round my desk, and press a kiss to my fingers. Then I transfer the kiss from my fingers to the image of my daughter’s smiling face. She’s garbed in graduation gear, holding her diploma to her chest. Eyes blue and bright and beautiful and hopeful like they were the day she was born. How the hell did I almost forget Clarissa?

Reggie lowers the blueprint from his face and asks, “You tell your therapist about that?”

“About what?”

He shifts on the couch, a frown dragging down one side of his mouth. “That ritual you just performed?”

“A man can’t show affection for his daughter?”

Comprehension blossoms in Reggie’s expression. “So you use that as her replacement?”

“I don’t have anything else to use. I suppose I could use a photo at home, if it offends you that I perform a creepy ritual here.”

“I didn’t say it was creepy. It’s a bit…odd is all.”

“Maybe for you. None of your loved ones are locked up in a science utopia, never to see the light of the nasty outside world again.”

Reggie tosses the blueprint toward the coffee table, but he overshoots, and the paper crumples on the floor. There are wrinkles where he gripped the edges. “You don’t want her there?”

“It’s where she wants to be, so I can’t want her anywhere else. That’s how fatherhood works.”

Reggie plucks his glasses off and rubs one of his eyes. “You require a lot of effort, you know that?”

“Am I not worth it?”

“If you weren’t, I wouldn’t be here.”

“Big hero, aren’t you?”

“No, that’s you. Mr. Risk and Reward.”

I grin. “Ah, but you’re the caution to my risk. The glue that holds me together.”

“And don’t you forget it.” He leans over the coffee table to retrieve the blueprint. “Now go to your lunch meeting before the WSJ guy thinks you ditched him. Good impressions are important for CEOs, Mr. Salt.

I stifle a laugh at Reggie’s impression of old Prof Flannigan. “Yes, sir. I’ll remember that when I frolic in my bed of hundred dollar bills tonight.”

Reggie bursts into a fit of snorts and giggles, and he’s still wheezing when I exit the office. Lisa glances at the closing door and arcs an eyebrow.

“You got a lunch meeting in ten minutes, Mr. Salt,” she says.

“I know.”

“Lunch traffic is in full swing. You’re better off walking.”

“Advice accepted, Lisa.”

“Better be.”

I throw her a deferential nod as I wait for the elevator to arrive. Just as the doors begin to open, my tablet vibrates. I fish it out of my pocket and glance at the quarter-width screen, spotting the icon for a text message. Stepping into the elevator, I hit the lobby button and unfold the tablet. The screen extends to full width, but the additional information doesn’t reveal the sender of the message. The ID is listed as blocked.

Strange. I run a virus scan.

It comes back clean as the elevator reaches the lobby.

Chewing my tongue, I stroll out into the buzz of the midday crowd and open the message.

There are four words.

Dad, I’m in trouble.

Social Media and Other Links

Want/need more information about the author? You’re in luck! Pick a link and click away!

One thought on “Blog Tour for OTHELLA

Thoughts?

