The Slacker in Me

As you may or may not have noticed, I haven’t exactly been the most active blogger as of late. Why not? Well, the short answer is I’m a slacker.

My name is Sarah, and I’m a procrastinator. It’s a daily struggle. And one that I normally lose. (My understanding is that I am not alone, that this is something writers everywhere struggle with. So I don’t feel completely awful about it.)

Well, I wouldn’t say that I’ve been a complete waste of space. With the beginning of spring (finally!), who wants to sit inside all day? Not this girl. So I’ve been planting and cleaning and painting, oh my. And in the process, my writing has suffered. I no longer get up and start my day with a writing ritual. I no longer act like my writing is an actual job that I’m paid to do and must comply with the supervisors orders so I don’t get fired. And it’s a problem.

In the time that I’ve been away, I’ve heard back from all of my original betas (I added a couple more, but they haven’t finished, which was pretty much expected). And the general verdict is that I’m on to something with my latest attempt at writing a book. I also stepped back a bit and let the story escape my brain for about a month. This wasn’t due to procrastination, but was a conscious decision to give myself perspective when I went back to the project for editing/revision. And it worked. I gutted most of my book. I’ve identified problem areas (with great help from my betas) and am currently in the process of fixing them. Kind of. Again, the procrastination. I’m also tossing around the idea of writing a sequel. So, all of that is pretty overwhelming. And the sun is shining, making the idea of plugging away at the keys even more unappealing.

The good news is that my characters are returning to my brain, once again prodding me to deal with them. Oh, how I’ve missed them. Over the next week, my goal is to get back to work, nurturing my imaginary people until they scream at me with constant and insistent voices to write, write, write.

So how to get out of this funk? For starters, I’m writing this blog post. We’ll see how it goes from there.

Thoughts?

