Book Review: The Poisonwood Bible, by Barbara Kingsolver

4 to 4.5 stars

People either seem to love this book or hate it. I’m kind of in between. On one hand, it made me tear up. But on the other, the ending was excruciatingly slow.

7244

I’m giving it the higher stars because it was wonderfully written up until about 3/4 of the way through. The characters were well done and distinct.

Then, after what I would deem to be the climax, it all went downhill. She would’ve done better to have a shorter epilogue instead of 150+ pages of wrap up. After the girls grow up, the story is ruined. And, as others have said, it does become a bit preachy in its political message at the end. I’m not going to say whether or not I agree with the message, mainly because I don’t see how what I think about the political situation in the Congo is relevant to whether or not the book was well written and engaging. However, if you are a person that can’t handle reading a book where you might disagree with some characters, you might want to stay away from this one.

Despite the ending, however, I’m still recommending it. Whatever was done in the end did not overshadow the rest of the amazing writing.

Warning: For those of you thinking this is going to be a wholesome, pro-Christian book because ‘Bible’ is in the title, beware. It’s not. I still think you should read it, though.

One thought on “Book Review: The Poisonwood Bible, by Barbara Kingsolver

Thoughts?

