Changing Stories

Today, I’m just going to post a quote from a book I’m currently reading, Sarah Addison Allen’s Lost Lake.

When talking about the hundreds of books in the sitting room: “I’ve read them all. I want to remember them the way they were. If I read them now, the endings will have changed.”

This quote made me smile. How many of us have went back to reread a favorite book from childhood (or even from a few years ago), only to realize that the ending wasn’t what we remembered? It didn’t affect us the same, didn’t resonate the same, didn’t even mean the same thing? Or did you completely make up a new ending? Were you disappointed, or did you understand the story in a whole new way?

Oh, how time changes us.

And how fickle the memory is.

Thoughts?

