Finding Time to Work

This is the look I get when I stay inside writing all day:

704369_10102392071426605_760390743_o

How could anyone resist that face?

Finding time to write is challenging. No matter who you are or what your life’s circumstances, there is always something else that seems more pressing. Dishes, walking the dog, picking your kids up from school, going to your real job, spending time with your spouse. And it takes so long to get into the mindset of your characters that sometimes you just sit down and think about what you’re going to write next, but then the doorbell rings or the drier buzzes and you’ve accomplished no physical writing.

I read a memoir of an author months ago. She said to overcome this problem, you have to set aside certain times (preferably in two-hour stretches) during the day to write. And actually do it. Everyday.

This sounds great in theory, but what about those of us that can’t get a moment’s peace for two hours a day? I don’t even have kids or a traditional job, and I sometimes have trouble finding two hours.

So what I’ve done is this: I bought myself a tablet. Well, my husband bought me a tablet. I take it with me absolutely everywhere. When I have a thought, I type it in an app. I do most of my writing preparation (thinking up character names, plot points, etc.) while I’m trying to fall asleep at night. So there my tablet sits, right on my nightstand, ready to serve.

It doesn’t necessarily have to be a device you carry around either. Traditional pen and paper would do. The point is to make it easier to get into the minds of your characters when you actually do have a minute to sit. And it helps me avoid the moment when I’m trying to fall asleep and think of something awesome, only to repeat it to myself twenty times because I don’t want to get out of bed to find the computer. Then I wake up the next morning wondering what it was that I thought was so awesome.

A note on the time to write in general: any time is the time to write. I mean, you’ll definitely get a book done a lot faster if you have unlimited, uninterrupted hours in the day to plug away at the keyboard. But writing a few sentences while the kids are napping or while you’re waiting on a casserole to bake is fine, too. Just do it! Writers write. Isn’t that the motto shoved in our faces?

My dog is staring at me again. I should probably toss the ball around a bit.

How do you find time to write?

Thoughts?

